Happy Easter from Pasticceria Papa

2 Apr

The Easter bunny came early for my family yesterday, as we celebrated in advance due to the notable absence of a few family members this coming weekend. And what better way to say Happy Easter than spell it out in chocolate icing on a cake from Pasticceria Papa in Haberfield?

Happy Easter hazelnut and almond sponge cake

Happy Easter hazelnut and almond sponge cake

My contribution to a family feast is almost always of the dolce kind. Sometimes I make, sometimes I buy. This time, even with the bonus daylight savings hour, I didn’t have the inspiration for an early morning bake. A short drive away is Pasticceria Papa and the answer to my prayers, and off I went with their world-famous ricotta cake in my sights.

Pasticceria Papa is another very good reason to call the Inner West home. This place is incredible and often frantic on a weekend morning with a line snaking out the door. They have a huge selection of Italian pastries, but are probably best known for their seriously sublime ricotta cake.

If you will allow me to digress For a moment I have to tell you about the ricotta cake. I have waited over an hour for this cake before and it was worth every minute to get one fresh out of the oven. It was faultless. The crust on top and bottom is the perfect balance of crispy and crumbly, and almost melts into the silky smooth ricotta filling (which is just sweet enough), and then dusted in a fine blanket of icing sugar and cinnamon.

I had all intentions of getting the ricotta cake but then I spied this sweet little Happy Easter cake and thought it seemed a better fit for the occasion, and probably more kid-friendly.

Square of Happy Easter cake

It’s a hazelnut and almond layered sponge and was quite the crowd pleaser, even for the non-hazelnut loving Shirley Manson. Not overly sweet, but still rich enough to satisfy the dessert junkies in the crowd. Love the cute meringue chicklets on top too. We divided it into 12 adult-sized squares, and for $25 I think it’s quite reasonable.

Easter bunnies in the hammock

Easter bunnies in the hammock

Wishing you a very happy Easter, I hope you celebrate with something equally delicious! Get yourself to 145 Ramsay Street, Haberfield for your slice of heaven this weekend.

Pasticceria Papa on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Happy Easter from Pasticceria Papa”

  1. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella April 3, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    I love that ricotta cheesecake! It’s probably good that I don’t live too locally because I’d probably visit every day for a slice :D

    • passionpip April 4, 2012 at 8:31 am #

      I really must revisit the ricotta cake again soon! Is it the holy grail of ricotta cake in Sydney do you think? Nice pic on your review too :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

