Cakes by the kilo…sign me up!

7 Mar
Athenas selection

All this for $11.20!

Athena Cake Shop, Marrickville is where you go for cakes by the kilo.

After a hot tip from a trusted food spy, I had to try this place. Investigating awesome local cake shops is the perfect Saturday morning adventure. I came out with chocolate and toffee profiteroles, Greek-style chocolate covered mini-cannoli, and honey biscuits.

The honey biscuits were out of this world, gooey and oozy and divine with coffee. The profiteroles and cannoli, however, were a source of debate amongst the group. Charles and Camilla were clearly divided about the custard filling, and I was with Camilla in the ‘profiteroles should have crème pâtissière’ camp. I’ve got a lot of time for custard, but I didn’t like this custard, and I didn’t like it in the profiteroles or the cannoli. It was a bit gluey, a bit jelly-like, a bit of a funny taste going on. Charles was all over it though and thought it was just right.

It is obscenely good value for money, and the staff were lovely and helpful. Definitely going back for those honey biscuits and to give the baklava a spin, I think it will be a sure thing. See what Eatability has to say or head to 412 Illawarra Road, Marrickville.

Edit: Late correspondence was received from Camilla about the custard. She saw marked improvements after the profiteroles had spent a couple more hours at room temperature. So let’s not rule them out just yet.

Athena's Cake Shop on Urbanspoon

2 Responses to “Cakes by the kilo…sign me up!”

  1. Erin March 8, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    I feel we may need to revisit this review after you’ve had the gelato cake :)

    • passionpip March 8, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

      Oh yes, the infamous gelato cake that I missed out on. I didn’t realise that was Athena’s work. As long as I get honey biscuits too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

